PCOS Challenge: The National Polycystic Ovary Syndrome Association worked with Congressman David Scott (D-GA-13) and 37 other leaders to introduce resolution H.Res.864 in the U.S. House of Representatives. PCOS Challenge also worked with and Senators Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), David Perdue (R-GA) and five other leaders in the U.S. Senate to introduce S.Res.336, which passed in the U.S. Senate by unanimous consent on December 21, 2017.

H.Res.864 recognizes the seriousness of polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), the need for further research, improved treatment and care options, and for a cure for PCOS. They also designate September as PCOS Awareness Month. This historic and bipartisan effort represents the first time there has been a central focus on PCOS in the U.S. Congress. There has been significant interest in the PCOS resolutions. H.Res.864 has attracted more cosponsors that any other Health resolution in the 115th Congress.


PCOS is one of the most pervasive and underserved public health issues that threatens the mental and physical health, and quality of life of girls, women and their families. The disorder can lead to infertility, lifelong complications and the most common causes of death in women including type 2 diabetes, cardiovascular disease and cancer. This resolution is critically important because more than 50% of women with PCOS are going undiagnosed. Awareness, early diagnosis and intervention and research can help to prevent or lessen the complications and progression of serious chronic illnesses connected to PCOS. It is imperative that we make PCOS a public health priority and encourage our respective Representatives to cosponsor H.Res.864.


To move H.Res.864 forward and out of committee, your representatives need to hear from you and your family to understand why PCOS is a critically important issue. As a constituent, you have a powerful story to tell about your own experience with PCOS or that of someone close to you.


  • Step 1. Find your Congressperson by entering your zip code and address at
  • Step 2. Check to see if your Congressperson is already a cosponsor of H.Res.864 (see cosponsor list on the right).
    • If your Congressperson is NOT already a cosponsor of H.Res.864, please complete the form at the following link to send a personalized letter that we will deliver to your Representative’s office –
    • If your Congressperson is already a cosponsor of H.Res.864, please still complete the form at the following link to send a personalized “thank you” letter that we will deliver to your Representative’s office –​


We also encourage you to call your Representative’s office about cosponsoring H.Res.864.

  1. Identify your Congressperson at by your address and zip code.
  2. Call your Congressperson’s office, let the person who answers the phone know that you are a constituent and would like to speak to the “health staffer.”
  3. Tell the health staffer, “I am a constituent and would like the Representative to cosponsor H.Res.864, which recognizes the seriousness of polycystic ovary syndrome, the need for further research, and for improved treatment and care options for women and girls with PCOS. H.Res.864 also designates September 2018 as PCOS Awareness Month. This resolution is important to me because [explain why PCOS is important to you, someone you know or your patients].
  4. If the health staffer is not available, leave a voicemail with your contact information and the message in #3 immediately above.
  5. Continue to follow up and ask your family and friends who live in the same district to follow up as well until your Representative signs on as a cosponsor. Persistence pays off!

H.Res.864 Sponsor

Rep. Scott, David [D-GA-13]

Original Cosponsors

Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon [R-PR-At Large]
John Katko [R-NY-24]
Thomas A. Garrett Jr. [[R-VA-5]
Jeff Fortenberry [R-NE-1]
Bill Foster [D-IL-11]
Eleanor Holmes Norton [D-DC-At Large]
Raul M. Grijalva [D-AZ-3]
Yvette D. Clarke [D-NY-9]
Ileana Ros-Lehtinen [R-FL-27]
Barbara Comstock [R-VA-10]
Lucille Roybal-Allard [D-CA-40]
Mark Pocan [D-WI-2]
Donald M. Payne Jr. [[D-NJ-10]
Eddie Bernice Johnson [D-TX-30]
Steve Cohen [D-TN-9]
John Lewis [D-GA-5]
John A. Yarmuth [D-KY-3]
Henry C. “Hank Johnson Jr. [[D-GA-4]
Mark Takano [D-CA-41]
Jamie Raskin [D-M[D-8]
Seth Moulton [D-MA-6]
Grace Meng [D-NY-6]
Rick W. Allen [R-GA-12]
Anna G. Eshoo [D-CA-18]
Sheila Jackson Lee [D-TX-18]
Rick Larsen [D-WA-2]
Janice D. Schakowsky [D-IL-9]
Debbie Wasserman Schultz [D-FL-23]
Jackie Speier [D-CA-14]
Marcia L. Fudge [D-OH-11]
Zoe Lofgren [D-CA-19]
Robin L. Kelly [D-IL-2]
A. Drew Ferguson IV [[R-GA-3]
Sanford D. Bishop Jr. [[D-GA-2]
Dwight Evans [D-PA-2]
Roger W. Marshall [R-KS-1]
Karen C. Handel [R-GA-6]


Frank A. LoBiondo [R-NJ-2]
Michelle Lujan Grisham [D-NM-1]
Raja Krishnamoorthi [D-IL-8]
Ruben Gallego [D-AZ-7]
Vicky Hartzler [R-MO-4]
Katherine M. Clark [D-MA-5]
Albio Sires [D-NJ-8]
Niki Tsongas [D-MA-3]
Lisa Blunt Rochester [D-DE-At Large]
Julia Brownley [D-CA-26]
Peter T. King [R-NY-2]
Thomas R. Suozzi [D-NY-3]
Denny Heck [D-WA-10]
Frederica S. Wilson [D-FL-24]
Madeleine Z. Bordallo [D-GU-At Large]
Gregory W. Meeks [D-NY-5]
Grace F. Napolitano [D-CA-32]
James A. Himes [D-CT-4]
Anthony G. Brown [D-M[D-4]
Scott H. Peters [D-CA-52]
Jimmy Panetta [D-CA-20]
Jacky Rosen [D-NV-3]
John B. Larson [D-CT-1]
Theodore E. Deutch [D-FL-22]
Luis V. Gutierrez [D-IL-4]
Daniel Lipinski [D-IL-3]
Elizabeth H. Esty [D-CT-5]
Charles J. “Chuck” Fleischmann [R-TN-3]
Bonnie Watson Coleman [D-NJ-12]
Nydia M. Velazquez [D-NY-7]
Brendan F. Boyle [D-PA-13]
James P. McGovern [D-MA-2]
Cedric L. Richmond [D-LA-2]
Tim Ryan [D-OH-13]
Debbie Dingell [D-MI-12]
Bennie G. Thompson [D-MS-2]
Joyce Beatty [D-OH-3]
Chellie Pingree [D-ME-1]
Brian K. Fitzpatrick [R-PA-8]
Emanuel Cleaver [D-MO-5]
Judy Chu [D-CA-27]
Stephen F. Lynch [D-MA-8]
Salud O. Carbajal [D-CA-24]
Beto O’Rourke [D-TX-16]
Kathleen M. Rice [D-NY-4]
Rob Woodall [R-GA-7]
Carolyn B. Maloney [D-NY-12]
Alcee L. Hastings [D-FL-20]
Nita M. Lowey [D-NY-17]
Lee M. Zeldin [R-NY-1]
Al Lawson, Jr. [D-FL-5]
Ann M. Kuster [D-NH-2]
Mike Gallagher [R-WI-8]
Doris O. Matsui [D-CA-6]
Eliot L. Engel [D-NY-16]
Rosa L. DeLauro [D-CT-3]
Gwen Moore [D-WI-4]
Darren Soto [D-FL-9]
Jerrold Nadler [D-NY-10]
Collin C. Peterson [D-MN-7]
Derek Kilmer [D-WA-6]
Brenda L. Lawrence [D-MI-14]
Joseph P. Kennedy
Bobby L. Rush [D-IL-1]
Cheri Bustos [D-IL-17]
Nanette Diaz Barragan [D-CA-44]
Eric Swalwell [D-CA-15]
Carol Shea-Porter [D-NH-1]
Jeff Denham [R-CA-10]
Bill Shuster [R-PA-9]
Andre Carson [D-IN-7]
Mike Coffman [R-CO-6]
Sean Patrick Maloney [D-NY-18]
Susan A. Davis [D-CA-53]
Adam B. Schiff [D-CA-28]
Gerald E. Connolly [D-VA-11]
Norma J. Torres [D-CA-35]
Steve Russell [R-OK-5]

S.Res.336 Co-Leaders

Sen. Warren, Elizabeth [D-MA]
Sen. Perdue, David [R-GA]

Original Cosponsors

Sen. Baldwin, Tammy [D-WI]
Sen. Blumenthal, Richard [D-CT]
Sen. Booker, Cory A. [D-NJ]
Sen. Feinstein, Dianne [D-CA]
Sen. Isakson, Johnny [R-GA]
Sen. Fischer, Deb [R-NE]

Latest PCOS News
NIH PCOS Research Opportunity – Durham, NC
Contact PCOS Challenge

Phone: (404) 855-7244
Toll-Free: (877) KICK-PCOS
(877) 542-5726
Fax: (301) 244-9902

PCOS Challenge, Inc.
931 Monroe Drive, NE
Suite A-470
Atlanta, GA 30308

Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

PCOS Challenge Support NetworkJoin Now!